• Naomi Sanders

Heavy Music Awards Nominees Announced

The nominees for the very first Heavy Music Awards were announced today!

The HMA’s are a new independent awards show, taking place 24th August 2017 at the House of Vans. The nominees were drawn up from independent producers, record label representatives, and others who are fully involved in the music industry, coming up with many names and artists eligible for the award, and managing to narrow it down into the 7 nominees for each category. Taking a look at the nominees, as well as the different sponsors for the event, including EMP, Scuzz, and Safe Gigs For Women, this looks to be a night not easily forgotten!

List of nominees are below, with the great thing being that YOU get to vote for who you want to win each category and, if you’re 18 or older, voting will enter you in a draw for a pair of tickets to the event! Vote here: https://vote.heavymusicawards.com/

Best Album presented by EMP

Architects – All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us (Epitaph / Producers: Fredrik Nordström + Henrik Udd)

Deftones – Gore (Reprise / Producer: Matt Hyde)

Every Time I Die – Low Teens (Epitaph / Producer: Will Putney)

Gojira – Magma (Roadrunner / Producer: Joe Duplantier)

Metallica – Hardwired… To Self-Destruct (Blackened / Producer: Greg Fidelman)

Oathbreaker – Rheia (Deathwish / Producer: Jack Shirley)

Thrice – To Be Everywhere Is To Be Nowhere (Vagrant / Producer: Eric Palmquist)

Best UK Band presented by UPRAWR

Architects (Epitaph)

Biffy Clyro (Warner)

Black Peaks (Easy Life)

Black Sabbath (Vertigo)

Bring Me The Horizon (Columbia)

Creeper (Roadrunner)

Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes (International Death Cult)

Best International Band

A Day To Remember (ADTR)

Beartooth (Red Bull)

Deftones (Reprise)

Every Time I Die (Epitaph)

Ghost (Loma Vista)

Gojira (Roadrunner)

Metallica (Blackened)

Best Live Band presented by Eagle Rock Entertainment

Architects (Epitaph)

The Dillinger Escape Plan (Party Smasher)

Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality)

Every Time I Die (Epitaph)

Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes (International Death Cult)

Ghost (Loma Vista)

Gojira (Roadrunner)

Best Breakthrough Band presented by House of Vans London

Black Peaks (Easy Life)

Black Foxxes (Universal)

Casey (Hassle)

Dead! (Infectious)

I Prevail (Fearless)

Venom Prison (Prosthetic)

Zeal & Ardor (Radicalis / MVKA)

Best Album Artwork

Architects – All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us (Epitaph)

Black Foxxes – I’m Not Well (Universal)

Deftones – Gore (Reprise)

Ghost – Popestar (Loma Vista)

Gojira – Magma (Roadrunner)

Meshuggah – The Violent Sleep Of Reason (Nuclear Blast)

Opeth – Sorceress (Moderbolaget / Nuclear Blast)

Best Producer

Tom Dalgety

John Feldmann

Greg Fidelman

Matt Hyde

Dan Lancaster

Fredrik Nordström

Will Putney

Best Photographer

Tom Barnes

Corrine Cumming

Ben Gibson

Ross Halfin

Paul Harries

Jennifer McCord

John McMurtrie

Best Festival

2000 Trees Festival, Cheltenham

ArcTanGent, Compton Martin

Bloodstock Open Air, Derby

Desertfest, London

Download Festival, Donington

Reading & Leeds Festival

Slam Dunk Festival, Birmingham / Hatfield / Leeds

Best Venue

Black Heart, Camden

The Dome, Tufnell Park

KOKO, Camden

O2 Academy, Brixton

O2 Forum, Kentish Town

Rock City, Nottingham

The Underworld, Camden