• Charlotte Claber

Punk Goes Pop returns with a bang

Punk Goes Pop volume 7 is the latest installment in the Punk Goes Pop best selling compilation series. With the release of Dance Gavin Dance’s “That’s What I Like” originally by Bruno Mars and The Amity Affliction taking a post-apocalyptic take on The Weeknd’s “Can’t Feel My Face” fans are highly anticipating what else the series could hold for them.

Pop-Punk State Champs bring an edge to their cover of Stitches that stays true to the original with vibes that will be adorned by all their fans. In between we see the likes of New Years Day take on Kehlani’s “Gangsta”, Andy Black and Juliet Simms doing justice to Adele’s larger than life “When We Were Young” and so many songs. Each track stands out for its own reason.

Fake Love by Drake. A song that many know and love. Capsize, California hardcore that a rawness in their music. The track itself shows Daniel Wand’s capability of expressing emotion in a track. A great demonstration of the bands ability “Fake Love” truly delivers as a track and does the original a great justice. It is without a doubt that Capsize are a band to watch with all future releases.

Worth a notable mention is Boston Manor’s cover of Twenty One Pilots track “Heathens”. Taking on a track by Twenty One Pilots is already a big task as the duo are unique but a song like “Heathens” that threw the band into the limelight is even harder. That being said, the Blackpool punks don’t disappoint. Speeding up an original slow track, Henry Cox’s vocals still give the track grit with the overlaps giving the track that haunting vibe that made it a perfect fit for a Super Villain movie like Suicide Squad. The song also demonstrates Boston Manor’s ability to break out the pop-punk mold and do something a little different and it doesn’t go unnoticed.

Closing the album are some of 2017’s biggest tracks including Ed Sheeran’s “Shape Of You” and “Closer” originally by The Chainsmokers. Punk Goes Pop doesn’t disappoint, all tracks are sure to be loved by fans worldwide. The compilation allows Top 40 songs to be enjoyed by all and demonstrates diversity from some of the best bands in the scene at the minute.

The complete track listing is as follows:


1. State Champs - “Stitches” by Shawn Mendes

2. Dance Gavin Dance - “That’s What I Like” by Bruno Mars

3. New Years Day - “Gangsta” by Kehlani

4. The Amity Affliction - “Can’t Feel My Face” by The Weeknd

5. Andy Black (feat. Juliet Simms) - “When We Were Young” by Adele

6. Grayscale - “Love Yourself” by Justin Bieber

7. Capsize - “Fake Love” by Drake

8. Boston Manor - “Heathens” by Twenty One Pilots

9. Eat Your Heart Out - “Shape Of You” by Ed Sheeran

10. The Plot In You - “Let It Go” by James Bay

11. Ice Nine Kills - “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever” by ZAYN, Taylor Swift

12. Seaway - “Closer” by The Chainsmokers

13. Too Close To Touch - “In The Name Of Love” by Martin Garrix & Bebe Rexha